13 Comments

Hi everyone! I'm grateful to have found this newsletter. To answer your question - Dec. 31 has been just another day in isolation at home, plus some well-wishes shared over the phone. It doesn't feel so different. My one resolution, which has stuck through all of 2020, has been to prioritize my own wellbeing and to practice self-compassion, so that I am capable of extending that to others.

Expand full comment
Jan 1, 2021Liked by Fiza Pirani

definitely a year of resilience and hardship! went through my family almost being bankrupt cos of covid and me doing all the legal work for my parents (as an immigrant's child would do) while finding out my dad's year-long cheating from ten years ago and working through that with my counsellor...now that my parents have turned from atheism to fanatic religion for solace after the ups and downs of this year, i only appreciate more of my own insight and how i stuck it through and parented my parents this year even though i didn't have to... next year is definitely one where i will put more focus on myself and appreciate simply being with myself and free :) thanks for your great work this year

Expand full comment
Jan 1, 2021Liked by Fiza Pirani

Sometimes looking ahead for me is a lot easier than sitting in the present which is the opposite if you from our last conversation! This year feels off. I am lookingfoward to some good news eventually. Thank u for being a bright light in my sour 2020!

Expand full comment

It's crazy how it's already the end of the 2020 already. Jan. 1, 2020 felt like a lifetime ago. At the same time, this year went by weirdly fast. New Year's is definitely a time for me to reflect and plan ahead, although this year it's somewhat different because it's unclear what the pandemic situation will be a year from now. That being said, I'll still try to take some time to reflect this year on what I would like in life, whether professionally or personally. I definitely hope to spend more time on meaningful work.

Expand full comment
Dec 31, 2020Liked by Fiza Pirani

The resolution discourse is bothering me too after a very rough yr. I just want to get past holiday season and for it to be warmer out doors again. I am reflecting a little bit and trying to keep lessons I learned this year. Hope you are well :D

Expand full comment
Dec 31, 2020Liked by Fiza Pirani

I am normally the person who religiously uses new planners and calendars! It helps my time management with ADHD. I like to start color coding and planning out my bullet journal for the next year in November. Decided not to do that this year...planning too far ahead hurt me in 2020 so I am trying to do one week at time.

Expand full comment

I'm not one to make resolutions. A decade ago, after a turbulent year and the loss of my dad, I ended the year with reflections and what the year taught me. I've continued this tradition and find it empowering and healing. Though most years, I look forward to it and do it at the end of December, this year I've just wanted to rest and do nothing. Hopefully, I'll get to it in early January. 2020 taught me many things, one being to enjoy each day as best you can because life can change suddenly and unexpectedly, to not make so many plans, and sometimes its best to flow instead of resist (hard for me).

Expand full comment