37 Comments
Mar 6, 2020Liked by Fiza Pirani

Nayeli from Into the Beautiful North by Urrea!!! I love that book and she was such a badass. have u read it? don't want to give away spoilers:)

Expand full comment

Wow, I have not read anything but nonfiction in a LONG time, but John Singer from Carson McCullers' The Heart Is a Lonely Hunter is my pick. I feel like I've spent my entire adult life trying to model this character's compassion, and the romance of his friendship with Spiros Antonapoulos, "The Greek", broke me in a million quiet places.

Expand full comment
Mar 9, 2020Liked by Fiza Pirani

is it too much of a cliche to say hermione? XD

Expand full comment
Mar 9, 2020Liked by Fiza Pirani

Jo from Little Women. I read the book first when I was a kid and then again recently because of the new movie (loved that too)! And I learned so many different things from her this time around. I love when characters age with you and teach you new things as you grow.

Expand full comment
Mar 9, 2020Liked by Fiza Pirani

Gotta go with my boy Atticus...shaped a lot of my life. Recently saw Sorkin's play and bawled like a baby. gonna make him my bio pic lol

Expand full comment
Mar 8, 2020Liked by Fiza Pirani

I love Ramona Quimby! Her unabashed enthusiasm for life and her unbridled expression of her feelings is a delight.

Expand full comment
Mar 7, 2020Liked by Fiza Pirani

Oscar Wao. My favorite nerdy hopeless romantic.

Expand full comment
Mar 7, 2020Liked by Fiza Pirani

Ifemelu from Americanah - a wonderful story about race and trying to fit in (or not) in different spaces. I identify with how she wrangles with racial challenges in different areas of her life and learns from them, but isn’t apologetic about her own background, something I haven’t always excelled at.

Expand full comment