7 Comments

Something that keeps me going is food and cooking. I always look forward to thinking up of new dishes to try out, cooking, and then of course, being able to eat them. I find cooking very therapeutic.

Expand full comment
Nov 25, 2020Liked by Fiza Pirani

Hi Fiza, commenting for the first time. I think you've said it very well. I had a rough few days dealing with the two great infections of our time -- Covid and misinformation spread in the family. It made me extremely grateful to have one listening parent, who doesn't necessarily agree with me always but would never bow down to sketchy reporting and unverified sources of hate. He encouraged my child self to disregard prejudice and never imposed his biases. I am also grateful for my partner whose presence helps cool me down when cortisol levels fly and who joins me in appreciating good food and planning ahead. For being able to go on hikes and outdoors too as landscapes calm my physical and mental anxiety of being indoors and dealing with human vulnerabilities.

Expand full comment
Nov 25, 2020Liked by Fiza Pirani

I love this fiza! The big blessings I try to think of are my cat, my abuela, and how close we are to the canyons. Going on hikes has been very important for my mental and physical health this year after almost being hospitalized.

Expand full comment