25 Comments
author

I'll mention a moment of mine: I sat down and talked to my grandparents about what's happening in India. I've been avoiding the conversation, because I'm afraid their opinions might rub me the wrong way (and vice versa). But it was a really thoughtful chat. I learned a lot—and they went upstairs with print-outs of some news articles I recommended.

Expand full comment
Dec 18, 2019Liked by Fiza Pirani

Just found out yesterday that I’m the recipient of the 2020 Deans Excellence Award. Beyond proud of myself.

Expand full comment
Dec 18, 2019Liked by Fiza Pirani

I read 21 books this yr (for fun)and am really proud of that.

Expand full comment
Dec 18, 2019Liked by Fiza Pirani

I have a tendency to personalize events and recently when a moment came up, instead of thinking "What did I do?" I thought, "This isn't about me. I hope that everything is okay with that person."

Expand full comment
Dec 18, 2019Liked by Fiza Pirani

I officially completed my masters degree and now I’m taking time to focus on improving my mental and physical health!

Expand full comment
Dec 18, 2019Liked by Fiza Pirani

I’ve been honest about my feelings — to my therapist, my friends, and to myself.

Expand full comment
Dec 23, 2019Liked by Fiza Pirani

I led sloganeering at a recent peaceful protest in San Francisco that was held in solidarity with protests across India against a new legislation by the country's ruling party that buries between the lines a longstanding anti-Muslim, Hindu-nationalist agenda that relentlessly divisive politics is pushing in the country. In the run-up to this moment, I felt overwhelming anxiety to watch violence in my homeland from afar and felt related guilt for not being able to do more than just be there in spirit. I also moved to the U.S. only 3 years back to pursue international journalism after almost 6 years of being a full-time journalist in India, reporting from the midst of India's democracy through its calm and chaos. All this to say, that the guilt exacerbates an identity-crisis that will feel like a crisis till the time acculturation takes it due course. Thank you for the opportunity to share here!

Expand full comment

I felt that a acquaintance that wanted to meet up with me while she was in town was consistently pushing my boundaries, so I told her that it wasn’t a good idea. And I wished her well. I’m so proud of myself because in the past I would have just met up with that person. Listening to my gut it’s a true win for my self-worth.

Expand full comment
Dec 18, 2019Liked by Fiza Pirani

I have not done yet but finallysigned up to foster a dog in 2020

Expand full comment