39 Comments
author

Two main things for me! An activity (watercoloring) that’s been forcing me to sloooow down. If you’ve watercolored before, you know it’s not exactly for the most impatient among us (me! I’m impatient!) but wow has it made me love the wait and lack of control. Another—my dogs. One look at my sleepy, lazy dogs when I’m especially anxious and I feel magically at peace. Lady (the pup I rescued when I first lived in my own) also loves to rest her chin or sometimes her entire body on my legs, stomach or even my chest. It’s like having my own weighted blanket. ♥️

Expand full comment
Jul 29, 2020Liked by Fiza Pirani

Cooking old recipes belonging to my mother, we found a recipe card box during the move. We do this once a week and I lookforoward every week :)

Expand full comment

Definitely cooking and eating some good takeout! Whenever I think about what I'm most grateful for, food is pretty high up there. I find it relaxing to cook, and it's so satisfying when you make a delicious meal. It's also nice to treat yourself every once in a while and get takeout.

Expand full comment
Jul 29, 2020Liked by Fiza Pirani

Being outside. Everything feels so chaotic all the time and while I can turn off my notifications or turn off my phone, I can't turn off my thoughts. So I welcome distractions from the chaos and I get that by being outside. Whether it's a run, a walk or a hike, feeling the fresh air and taking in the outdoor sounds of my beautiful surroundings has been grounding me lately.

Expand full comment

Plants. Watching them change, watching new ones bloom on my walks. I'm walking through the same streets (and don't go anywhere else right now), which is less than ideal; I'd like more variety in my life. But, discovering different plants and watching them change, is joyous and wonderful.

Expand full comment

My Daughter. She's my sole purpose for living and loving. She is such a light for me in these shaded times. She helps me stay focused and her smiles and sneezypoots remind me that right here, in this actual moment, reality, isn't that shady at all!

Expand full comment

Yoga! Just 20 minutes a day, with some YouTube channel (especially Yoga with Adrienne): I am not flexible at all and I love to see my hands go slightly closer to the ground when I do forward fold :)

Expand full comment
Aug 3, 2020Liked by Fiza Pirani

Two main things for me too. Getting up early in the Rockies and seeing the alpenglow turn the peaks a peachy orange. This summer is so beautiful, it feels almost valedictory. Next is opening my inbox and hearing from the wonderful women of The Shoe Project who are sending in stories about their lives, and the supporters and volunteers who are lining up to bring those stories forward.

Expand full comment
Jul 31, 2020Liked by Fiza Pirani

Wellness goals. Without a goal for each day, the days blend together. With it, I feel like I have a purpose every day and the changes I feel physically or mentally are just added benefits.

Expand full comment

Thoughts of curating a mood board sort of page & gouache painting - finally got my hands on these paints after drooling over them for two years. I had a very calming routine going the first 3 months of the lockdown but not my mental health is tanking like a heavy stone in still waters.

Expand full comment
Jul 30, 2020Liked by Fiza Pirani

Meditation. I’m fairly new to it so I try do like maybe 10-15 mins total in a day. I use the insight timer app. In moments throughout day that I feel especially overwhelmed, I’ll do a 1-2 minute exercise just gather myself again. I also try to do a longer guided meditation before I sleep, and found that it helps me fall asleep much quicker.

Expand full comment
Jul 29, 2020Liked by Fiza Pirani

Rediscovering my love of reading! I was an avid reader as a child and have spent the better part of my adult years discussing how much I need to read more. Now I'm being easier on myself but prioritizing it more. Also...pasta :) Most small things can be fixed with a bowl of pasta.

Expand full comment
Jul 29, 2020Liked by Fiza Pirani

Gratitude journal! A grateful heart is a magnet for blessings.

Expand full comment
deletedJul 29, 2020Liked by Fiza Pirani
Comment deleted
Expand full comment