9 Comments
Feb 12, 2021Liked by Fiza Pirani

Oh So many! Amanda Gorman on inauguration day recently of course has been on my mind and given some unexpected hope. It is not just her wonder and wisdom but her the representation of a future and youth that refuses to back down from injustice. I saved the mp4 on my phone and have listened to it at least5x! Maybe it caught me off guard, I just did not expect to be moved so much so quickly. It has just made me less cynical maybe.

Expand full comment
Feb 12, 2021Liked by Fiza Pirani

I've been thinking a lot about homes away from home and what will be the place I make my home because I want to make it my home. I came across Naguib Mahfouz's quote recently "Home is where all your attempts to escape cease." And now I'm thinking about all the places I've ceased to escape...if any at all.

Expand full comment

I love this question! I'm reading this book about dog enrichment that turned out to be really insightful for human behavior too. There's this one passage that talked about something called "immunization training" where you get lots of praise and reward for performing a task in a minimally stressful environment. Then you gradually increase the stressors as your dog (or you) becomes more able to deal with them. This helps build resilience to stress. By the time you've been doing this for a long time, they're able to handle extremely stressful situations. Which is how people are able to do things like neurosurgery without freaking out in the OR!

Expand full comment

I recently read the book Minor Feelings by Cathy Park Hong, and it really stuck with me. She beautifully described many aspects of the Asian American experience, like feeling invisible, intergenerational trauma, etc.

Expand full comment