7 Comments
Apr 22, 2020Liked by Fiza Pirani

oh :( thank you. You are making me think. I come from family of fishing village and when I think of these questions I think of the sea and nutrition for my childhood. The sea gave us so much.

Expand full comment

The planet simply means my home. I think of parks that I've lived near: the forest in my neighborhood that I used to explore as a kid, the trail along the San Francisco Bay where I would go on long runs, the beach that I would jog to. I don't feel that I struggle to feel connected to the Earth, but often I feel like no matter what we do on an individual, it's not enough to protect the Earth and ourselves from climate change. We'd have to change how our businesses, factories, government, and transportation systems operate at a large-scale in order to make a big impact.

Expand full comment
Apr 23, 2020Liked by Fiza Pirani

you know i love the way u wrote this because when ur depressed it really does make u amplify ur pain internally and it is hard to grasp the bigger problems in the world. My mom used to call me selfish for having a hard time overcoming personal problems. There were other things to worry about,, but I could not "see" until I helped myself get through the day to day problems.

I am in a same boat as u now. I get emotional about climate politics and the planet a lot and feel guilty a lot about it because I feel like it is part of me.

Expand full comment