18 Comments
author

FYI here's what's been making me laugh: My dogs and how perfectly opposite they are. Also, apparently, Lady has a thing with doors left ajar. She just kind of...stands in front or behind and stares through the small open space. I can't tell if she's afraid or...possessed? But it's hilarious. Something else that consistently makes me laugh: The New Yorker's Daily Shouts. I've been going through older copies I never finished and, like, I can't get enough. Here's the latest: https://www.newyorker.com/humor/daily-shouts/love-poems-for-anxious-people

Expand full comment

Every single time my dog opens my door with his nose to see what I'm up to (multiple times a day, Lucky is the only thing that's making me laugh these days)

Expand full comment
Apr 19, 2020Liked by Fiza Pirani

Hi Fiza, thanks for this. I've been reading David Sedaris for the first time on Chris's recomendation and love the ridiculous and surprising sense of humor.

Expand full comment
Apr 20, 2020Liked by Fiza Pirani

A few different things have me laughing and feeling better. One is my best friend and me having some laughs and shedding some tears while watching the BTS concert livestreams; we were supposed to go to their arena tour this May, and it was kind of a catharsis going down memory lane via our rapid fire texts about the shows and our journey of bonding over K-pop.

My coworker/work wife has also been sending me a ton of Tik Toks, particularly feeding her obsession with this dude's "eco-humor": https://www.tiktok.com/@philthefixer?lang=en

And I've sadly become a little obsessed with 90 Day Fiance? It's so trashy but I have had many cringe-laughs streaming it on Hulu.

Expand full comment
Apr 19, 2020Liked by Fiza Pirani

"Why am I watching these old ass clips from previous RHOA (Real Housewives of Atlanta) reunion episodes?"

I have asked myself this question for the past two weeks and this post helped me formulate my why into words. First off, I have an emotional connection to the show is that I've supported it since the first season which was twelve years ago. The women are beautiful, spunky, and very loving but usually, they're rambunctious, shady and do a great job at pointing out one another's flaws that it becomes hard to not INDULGE. They're too real!

I also believe seeing powerful, black women on reality television in a foreign, mostly caucasian environment is comforting. I'll keep watching :)

Expand full comment
Apr 19, 2020Liked by Fiza Pirani

I am never downloading tiktok. However, I entertain myself sometimes by watching old Russell peters on YouTube or binge watching “Cyanide of Happiness.”

Expand full comment
Apr 19, 2020Liked by Fiza Pirani

I just finished binging Sex Education on Netflix and it was AMAZING lots of laughs but also really compelling/beautiful.

Expand full comment

I've been super into TikTok lately! The highlight of my day is getting notfications from my friends of TikToks they've sent.

Expand full comment